Saturday, August 23, 2014  
Search By Keyword
Breaking News Alerts
Email Alerts
Email Address
Text Alerts
Mobile Number
 )  - 
Mobile Provider
standard messaging rates apply
Website   Map    
Officers stop suspect after 9 mile chase

This video of the Aug. 7 car chase as it transferred from NC 16 to Old Wilkesboro Road Ext., was captured by Alexander County resident Audrey Jarrell, who shared the footage with The Times.

Dash cam shot from patrol car showing Taylorsville Police Patrolman T.D. Land deploying stop sticks at suspect vehicle in car chase on NC 16 near 5th Ave. SW on Thursday, Aug. 7.

Updated Aug. 8, 5:20 p.m.

Officers stop suspect after 9 mile chase


A suspect who officers say was driving erratically and recklessly was stopped within Alexander County just before the Wilkes County line on NC 16 North after he led officers on a chase in a stolen car.

According to the police report of Taylorsville Police Patrolman T.D. Land, officers were alerted on Thursday, August 7, about 6:00 p.m. to a careless and reckless driving call involving a motorist in a white car traveling northbound on NC 16 south of Taylorsville. Land was in the area to assist, as well as Alexander County Sheriff's Deputy A.P. Millsaps. The deputy advised officers that the car would not stop for blue lights and siren. Patrolman Land, being in the path of the erratic motorist near 5th Avenue SW on NC 16, got out of his patrol car and deployed stop sticks to puncture the suspect's tires and hopefully end the chase and the threat to other motorists. Land estimated the suspect to be traveling 60 mph in the 35 mph zone.

The right front tire passed over the stop sticks, which were then knocked out of the roadway by the passing car. Land fell in behind and also pursued the suspect. It continued traveling onto NC 16 North through town. The motorist weaved all over the road. Near Schneider Mills, the tire which had contacted the stop sticks came off the vehicle, said Land. Deputy D. Barnes attempted to get in front of the vehicle to slow it down near Walker Foundry Loop, but the suspect ran off the road and into the parking lot of Propst Convenience Store and then onto Old Wilkesboro Road Ext.  Barnes continued north on NC 16, said Land, and the suspect traveled the Old Wilkesboro Road Ext. and back onto NC 16 northbound, where Barnes was unable to stop the vehicle.

Land said that Barnes tried several times to get in front of the suspect car, to perform a road block, but was unable to do so as the suspect swerved to block Barnes. Near Deal Orchards, several State Highway Patrol vehicles joined the pursuit. With sufficient backup for the County deputies, Land cancelled the chase and traveled back to Taylorsville's city limits. Soon thereafter, the chase came to an end in the curve on NC 16 just south of Perry Lowe Orchards.

County deputies arrested Travis Jackson Transeau, age 35 of Ret Stafford Lane, Taylorsville, and charged him with driving while impaired, felony fleeing to elude arrest, felony larceny of a motor vehicle, driving while license revoked, and careless and reckless driving. Patrolman Land issued Transeau citations for speeding (60 mph in 35 zone), passing in a no passing zone, and driving left of center.

Visitor Comments
Submit A Comment
Submitted By: jeff addisonSubmitted: 8/19/2014
need to get the story straight, I witnessed and reported that car being stolen in which I followed him until the cops were able to get behind him. the bad part about it is, it was one of my employees car that was stolen and he had to pay 150.00 tow bill and fix his car, seems like the victim is always the one paying

Submitted By: joyce pierceSubmitted: 8/8/2014
give him a slap on the wrist and turn him loose.

Current Conditions
Taylorsville, NC
Radar & More >>
click ad below for details
  • Show All Ads