Skip to content
April 20, 2024

All three $50 Readers’ Choice winners named


FIRST WINNER — Above, Selena Harrington (left), of Taylorsville, is presented a $50 check by Times representative Lina Hajer on Monday, August 8. Two more $50 prizes remain by simply filling out the 2016 Readers Choice contest survey entry.


SECOND WINNER — For the week of August 15, the second of three weekly $50 winners was Sarah Mayberry, of Taylorsville. Pictured above, left to right: Times representative Jennifer Martin and Sarah Mayberry.


THIRD WINNER — For the week of August 22, the third and final weekly $50 winner was John Patterson, III, of Taylorsville. Pictured above, left to right: Times representative Jennifer Martin and John Patterson, III.

(Updated Aug. 23, 2:00 p.m.)

It’s baaaaack! Readers can once again tell The Times which restaurant has the best cheeseburger in Alexander County. Or help decide who’s the best barber, electrician, or mechanic. What’s your favorite school, church, or civic club? You can cast your vote for all these and more in the 2016 Readers’ Choice Awards with the special Readers’ Choice booklet in The Taylorsville Times or online at

This local awards program is being sponsored by the Alexander County Economic Development Corporation (EDC) and The Taylorsville Times with the objective of promoting local businesses in Alexander County and supporting the EDC’s “Buy Local” campaign.

The awards survey contains approximately 90 blanks in which residents can vote for their favorite businesses. Categories include: Dining Out; Having Fun; Professional Services; Community Favorite; Shopping; Health & Wellness; Financial; Automotive; and Out-of-County Favorites.

“This awards program is the perfect opportunity to vote for your favorite businesses, and help promote them to others,” said Gary Herman, Small Business Development Coordinator for the EDC. “This goes hand-in-hand with the EDC’s ‘Buy Local’ campaign as we strive to make our residents more aware of the importance of supporting our local merchants.”

The survey will run for five weeks with a deadline of Tuesday, September 6, 2016. The survey will be available online, or you can find the survey in each issue of The Taylorsville Times (full page or an insert) through August 31. Those who complete the paper survey in the newspaper should mail it to: Alexander County EDC, Attn: Awards, 621 Liledoun Road, Taylorsville, NC 28681 or drop off at The Taylorsville Times office, located at 24 East Main Avenue.

To help encourage participation in the Reader’s Choice Awards, a random survey respondent will be chosen after the second, third, and fourth week and will win $50 each. Surveys should be as complete as possible.

The first weekly winner drawn was Selena Harrington, of Taylorsville.

Sarah Mayberry, of Taylorsville, was drawn as the second weekly winner.

John Patterson, III, of Taylorsville, was the third and final $50 winner.

After the September 6 deadline, survey results will be compiled and the winning businesses will be presented with a framed certificate. The results will be available in a special tabloid publication in The Taylorsville Times.

Leave a Comment